When it comes to traffic violations in Michigan, people have a tendency to think that they can just let it pass and pay the fine. Normally, that would be okay because not everyone wants to contest traffic tickets in Michigan or do anything that would be considered a waste of time.
However, it is not always advantageous for you to have speeding tickets or traffic violations in Michigan. In this article, let us talk about the common costs of speeding that you should know as well as the Michigan point system that affects your insurance.
Common Costs of Speeding in Michigan
Generally, the common costs of speeding in Michigan can be in the following rough cost system:
- $90 for speeding 1-5 miles per hour over the speed limit.
- $95 for failure to signal.
- $100 for an improper U-turn.
- $180 for failure to stop for a school bus.
- $155 for speeding 26 miles per hour over the speed limit.
There are a lot of other costs of speeding that you should take note of but these are the common costs. Every county would have a different set of costs that you should know about.
Every fine in the State of Michigan also comes with points that affect your insurance premiums. For example, in Marquette County, the following are the fines and the penalties that you should watch out for.
|1-5 mph over speed limit||$115||2 points|
|6-10 mph over speed limit||$125||2 points|
|11-15 mph over speed limit||$135||2 points|
|16-20 mph over speed limit||$145||4 points|
|21 and over||contact court|
|General Civil Infraction w/out Accident:||$125|
|Stop Sign Violation||$125||3 points|
|Traffic Signal Violation||$125||3 points|
|Disobey Traffic Control Device||$125||2 points|
|Wrong Way/One Way Street||$125||2 points|
|Improper Overtaking||$125||3 points|
|Improper Turn||$125||2 points|
|Left of Center||$125||2 points|
|Fail to Yield||$125||2 points|
|Careless driving w/out accident||$175||3 points|
|General Civil Infraction w/Resulting Accident||$135|
|Violation of Basic Speed Law w/accident||$135||2 points|
|Fail to Yield w/accident||$135||2 points|
|Stop Sign Violation w/accident||$135||3 points|
|Careless driving with accident||$250||3 points|
|Other Common Citations|
|Seat Belt Violation||$65||0 points|
|Child Restraint Violation||$80||0 points|
|No Proof of Insurance
*fine reduced to $25 State Insurance fee if valid proof shown to the Court within 10 days
**all fines waived if proof of repair shown to the Court within 10 days
|No Operator’s License on Person
***all fines waived if valid license shown to the Court within 10 days
|Expired Operator’s License 30 days or less||$170||2 points|
|Expired Operator’s License 31 days or more||$195||2 points|
|Expired Registration Plate 30 days or less||$100||0 points|
|Expired Registration Plate 31 days or more||$125||0 points|
|School bus violation||$200||3 points|
|School bus violation w/resulting accident||$275||3 points|
What is the Michigan point system that affects insurance premiums in the State? This will be discussed in a succeeding article.
Were you pulled over in Michigan?
Now that you know some facts about getting traffic violations in the State of Michigan, it is time to get down to it. If you require a lawyer who can assist you with ensuring that you protect your rights to your property, it is important to know that you also have a team that can help you out with your specific needs.
Our law firm is dedicated to making sure that those who are innocent will be protected by the law and the full extent of justice will be used.
The article that you have read is based on general applications of the law. It is not legal advice and it is not to be construed as any legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship is created when you read the articles we have provided.
Let us help you out
If you need a Southfield traffic violation lawyer to help you during your traffic ticket proceedings, call us immediately. Let us help you set things right.