You may have some questions about the MI-REP Course that you want to be answered. In this article, we talk about the basic questions and answers.
Do I need a motorcycle endorsement (CY) to operate my motorcycle or trike in Michigan?
Yes, you need a motorcycle endorsement (CY) to operate a motorcycle in Michigan. If you operate a motorcycle on public roads in Michigan without you having a license, you could get caught and it would result in a fine or imprisonment.
What are the costs of getting a motorcycle endorsement (CY) to operate your motorcycle or trike in Michigan?
The following are the costs of getting a motorcycle endorsement in Michigan:
- First-time CY or permit: $16 (plus any fees for other license transactions)
- Renewal: $7 + license renewal fee
- Correction/replacement: $9
What are the penalties when you operate your motorcycle without a motorcycle endorsement (CY) to operate your motorcycle or trike in Michigan?
Since you need a motorcycle endorsement (CY) to operate a motorcycle in Michigan, if you operate a motorcycle on public roads in Michigan without you having the license, you could get caught and it would result in a fine or imprisonment.
If it is your first violation, you are punishable by a $500 fine and/or a 90-day penalty in jail or both. For the second offense, you can get punished by a fine of $1000 and jail time of 1 year or both.
What is the Rider Skills Test (RST)?
The Rider Skills Test (RST) is the test that is taken by individuals who want to get a motorcycle endorsement.
Do I need a Rider Skills Test (RST) to get my motorcycle endorsement (CY)?
Not necessarily. You don’t need to pass the Rider Skills Test (RST) for you to get your motorcycle endorsement. A waiver is granted to students who complete and pass one of the following courses:
- Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF) Basic RiderCourse (BRC) or Returning Rider Course (RRC)
- MI-REP Basic RiderCourse (BRC)
- MI-REP Basic RiderCourse 2 (BRC2)
- MI-REP Returning Rider Basic RiderCourse (RRBRC)
Do I need to get a motorcycle endorsement (CY) for my moped or scooter?
No, you do not need a motorcycle endorsement to operate a moped. A vehicle is considered a moped in Michigan if it complies with the following requirements:
- Having an engine displacement not exceeding 100cc
- No manual gear shift
- Top speed of no more than 30 mph on a level surface
If the motorcycle that you have does not meet all of the three requirements for a moped, then you will be required to get a motorcycle endorsement.
Get that Motorcycle License
Now that you know some facts about getting a license in the State of Michigan, it is time to get down to it. If you require a lawyer who can assist you with ensuring that you protect your rights to your property, it is important to know that you also have a team that can help you out with your specific needs.
Our law firm is dedicated to making sure that those who are innocent will be protected by the law and that the full extent of justice will be used.
The article that you have read is based on general applications of the law. It is not legal advice and it is not to be construed as any legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship is created when you read the articles we have provided.
Let us help you out
If you need a lawyer to help you during your motorcycle accident proceedings, call us immediately. Let us help you set things right.