Accidents happen every day. Nobody can predict when an accident may happen. However, even if you cannot predict when the accident may happen, you may at least prepare for it.
In the United States, accidents are the third leading cause of death. For people between the age of 25 to 44, it is often the cause of death. Of course, this is why it makes sense to have a comprehensive insurance policy that could cover your needs, or your family’s needs when an accident happens.
Here at Haque Legal, it is our goal to make sure that you have the protection you need in times of trouble. We want to answer all of your questions and therefore we have created this article series that would discuss everything you need to know about car insurance coverage in the state of Michigan.
In this part, we continue our discussion on Everything You Need To Know About Car Insurance Coverage in Michigan: Uninsured Motorist Coverage. Let us continue
Do I still have to pay the driver responsibility fee?
If you have been found guilty of driving without insurance in Michigan you will be required to pay the $500 driver responsibility fee for two consecutive years. With the new changes in the Michigan automobile insurance law, there is no more payment of the driver responsibility fee that is required.
Can you be arrested for driving without insurance in Michigan?
Yes, you can be arrested for driving without insurance in Michigan. Even if you have just been stopped by a traffic officer while driving in the middle of the road and it was, later on, found out that you and your automobile do not have any insurance then you can be arrested for driving without insurance.
Keep in mind that there is no need for a warrant if you are arrested for driving without insurance because warrantless arrest can be made for misdemeanors that are committed in the presence of a police officer and are punishable by more than 92 days in jail. The fact that the police officer stopped you in traffic for whatever reason is enough to be considered as committing a misdemeanor in the presence of the police officer.
How much is driving without an insurance ticket?
You will pay a fine of at least $200 in case you are caught driving without insurance.
For some individuals, the $200 is a small amount to pay when you do not have to pay for the insurance policy. This is a common mistake that you should never make. If you think that you will only be not paying the insurance and you will just be required to pay the ticket of $200, that is not true.
The fine that is imposed under Michigan law for driving without insurance is indeed one of the smallest fines that you should be worrying about. You should also be worrying about all of the other penalties that we have already discussed with you in the previous articles.
Keep in mind that you are not just facing the requirement of being fine but you may also be required to go to jail and to pay for all of the other injuries and damages you have caused to other parties while nobody would pay for the cost of your expenses.
What If I do Hit and Run and get investigated, can I deny the charges?
If you do not have insurance and you do a hit and run, you will have to face a lot of charges. While the investigation is ongoing the police may have already asked the court to issue a warrant of arrest against you. This becomes entirely separate from their right to arrest you if you were stopped at a traffic light. Since the investigation is already ongoing and the police were not in the vicinity when you committed the misdemeanor there is no valid warrantless arrest if you are later on arrested.
However, it is important to remember that if you do the act of hit and run because you are scared of how much it would cost you to pay for the injury and the vehicle damage, the costs that you will have to bear after the investigation is higher than the cost of accepting your fault in the matter.
Contact Your Insurance Company And Your Lawyer
If you have been involved in a car collision in Michigan, make sure that you are protected. By contacting your insurance company, you will have what you need in terms of their decision and see if they just need a little nudge in the right direction.
If the answer of the insurance company is not positive on your claim, then you need to make sure that you will get going with your complaint.
But what if you do not have insurance, as in the topic that we have in this article? You need to get the right lawyer.
A lawyer can help you get started with your claim. A lawyer at Haque Legal will see to it that your needs are met from beginning to the end of the proceedings. You are always in good hands with Haque Legal and what it has to offer.
The article that you have read is based on general applications of the law. It is not legal advice and it is not to be construed as any legal consultation with the firm. No client-attorney relationship is created when you read the articles we have provided.
Let us help you out
If you are having trouble with filing an insurance claim or have been in an auto accident in Michigan, call us immediately. If you have any problem with the law or are seeking justice and truth, our numbers are standing by to take your call. If you have no insurance and are facing intense jail time, you need to seek our help as soon as possible.